Contact us

Given below are contact details for the clergy and various office holders for the Ashbourne group of churches and individual parishes.  If there is no BT code given then it is 01335 for Ashbourne.


Rector The Rev’d Duncan Ballard, The Vicarage, 3 Spire Close, Ashbourne DE6 1DB. Duncan is also Area Dean of Carsington (2 days a week) and Interim Warden of Readers (2 days a week) You can email him at:

Parish Office St Oswald’s Church Hall, School Lane, DE6 IAN

Parish Secretary Claire Critchlow Tel 343052

Associate Priest The Rev’d Carollyn McDonald Tel. 01335 664132

Curate The Rev'd Amanda Marshall Tel. 0755 7567751 

Retired (but very active!) Clergy

  • Rev’d Maggie Rode Tel. 664159
  • Rev’d Nigel Rode Tel 664159


Agricultural Chaplain: Alan Griggs Tel 07710 088972

Ashbourne Churches Together (ACT) Chair: Rev’d Maggie Rode Tel. 664159

ACE Youth Worker Trust


St Oswald’s Church, Ashbourne


  • Nick Taylor Tel 01335 324656 07769 238455,
  • Paul Elliott Tel 01335 343059

Safeguarding Kay Wright Tel 07903 490444 /001335 300778

Electoral Roll Linda Barbour, Tel 01335 371906

PCC Secretary Janet Wright Tel 346506 je96wright@btinternetcom

Minutes Sec Susan Damesin Tel 346730

Treasurer Michael Hyde, Tel 342851

Director of Music Michael Halls, Tel 01335 372064

Edward Bear (0-5 years) Chris Haycock Tel 347771, Rutha Titterton Tel 342904

Hall Bookings John Titterton Tel 01335 342904

Mothers’ Union Nancy Bell Telephone Tel 347915

Walking Group Paul and Gill Elliott Tel 343059,

Bell ringing Peter Dickinson Tel 01335 418341, Jackie Burns Tel: 370782

Book Shop Linda & Ron Torr, Telephone 343405

Flowers Sec. Margaret Dawson Tel 342339

Cleaning Peter & Midge Dobbs, 300613

USPG, TWAM & MAF  Joe & Gillie Lister, 01629 734553

Magazine delivery Canon Edmund Urquhart Tel 01335 346454

Pew News Tony Wilmore


Holy Trinity Church, Clifton

Churchwarden Tina Harbinson Tel 343749

Treasurer Alyson Devine Tel 01335 664296

PCC Secretary Jackie Nicholson

Magazine Co-ord. Tina Harbinson Tel 343749 charbinson157(

Hall Bookings Manon Fowler Tel 07528 182452

Caretaker Stuart Smith Tel 07182 350228


St John’s Church, Ashbourne

Churchwardens Julie Hughes (Jules) Tel 342292  Sarah Denny Tel 07791 629604

Treasurer Ray Wason

Secretary to the Trustees and Booking Secretary: Monica Cope Tel 01335 342728

Sunday School Beverley Oakley Tel 01335 342001


St Mary’s Church, Mappleton

Churchwardens Barbara Sims Tel 350821  Andrew Walker—Okeover 350274

Secretary to the PCC, Electoral Roll Officer and Magazine co-ordinator

Joan Duckmanton 350395

Treasurer Enid Kent Tel 345942


St Mary and St Barlok, Norbury and Roston

Churchwardens Vacancy

Treasurer Mark Wordley Tel 01889 590701

PCC Secretary Anne Clowes Tel 324225

Magazine Co-ord. Jess Batterby Tel 07855542026


St Peter’s Church, Snelston

Churchwardens Charles Stanton Tel 346120, Richard Ward Tel 07837287695

PCC Secretary Vacancy

Magazine Co-ordinator:  James Hollingsworth Tel 300162

Electoral Roll Officer and Treasurer: Tammy Shirley, Tel 345817.